Windgap Grotto dates back to 13th April, 1915, when James Edward William Theobald Butler, Marquis of Ormonde agreed to “make over as free gift” to Diocesan Trustees ‘that plot of land containing about two acres three roods and twelve perches’.
The grotto as we know it today was the brainchild of the then Parish Priest, Revd. James Brennan. Finance for construction of the seven mosaics which are inlaid at various points along the walk came from Australia.
It is a unique feature incorporating quartz lined pathways which pass several features including five sculptures, seven mosaics and a small folly. A feature of the mosaics is that they are designed in three languages, namely, English, Latin and Irish.